RSS

Idioms with Colours

03 Apr

5 idioms with colours

Hello!

How are you doing?

I hope everything is going fantastically.

Today we’re going to look at some idioms in English which all contain the colours red or blue, two of my favourite colours. I will give you their meanings and a sample sentence for each idiom.

to see red: to suddenly become very angry

Here is an example:

When he laughed in my face I saw red and hit him.

to catch someone red-handed: to catch someone in the act of doing something wrong (private or illegal)

For example, I caught my sister red-handed reading my diary.

in the red (informal): in debt, owing money. “in the red” can refer to a person or the person’s bank account.

Example: I don’t understand why he’s always in the red as he has a very good job.

Now that we’ve looked at three idioms containing the word “red”, let’s look at a couple more containing the word “blue”.

once in a blue moon: very rarely, hardly ever

Here is an example:

When I was younger I used to go the cinema about once a month but now I go once in a blue moon.

out of the blue: unexpectedly

I hadn’t heard from my old workmate in years when one day I received a letter from her out of the blue

Have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

Best regards,

FD-message
officeII03.04.16II10:37am

 
 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
